OpenBGPd

Making internet routers independent

Website

The Internet is a network of networks. The Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) allows them to communicate with each other. BGP regulates routing so that data packets can get from one network to the next quickly and efficiently. 

OpenBGPd is an open implementation of BGP. It allows anyone to participate in the internet by exchanging routes with other BGP providers. With the OpenBGPd software, normal computers can function as routers, allowing independence from closed-source hardware and the associated risks. Internet Exchange Points, for example, use this software to provide their services. However, the field of open BGP implementations increasingly lacks technical diversity. For several years, this diversity has been restored by strengthening and developing OpenBGPd.

Why is this important?

The BGP protocol is the “language” spoken by internet routers to determine how data packets are sent from one device to another. Open implementations are crucial to establish technical diversity and resilience. They create independence from commercial and closed-source routers, enabling access to the internet without any need for expensive hardware. 

A lack of funding for OpenBGPd's core team has negatively impacted the diversity of open implementations. Modernizing OpenBGPD distribution will help to restore diversity at the route server level.

What are we funding?

The funding will be used to increase the efficiency, usability, and security of OpenBGPd. The Route Decision Engine and usability for Linux servers will be improved, and ASPA security mechanism support will be implemented to prevent so-called BGP leaks.

Back to projects

OpenBGPd

Internetrouter unabhängiger machen

Website

Das Internet ist ein Netz der Netze – damit diese miteinander kommunizieren können, gibt es das Border Gateway Protocol (BGP). Das BGP regelt das Routing, damit Datenpakete schnell und effizient von einem Netz zum nächsten gelangen können.

OpenBGPd ist eine offene Implementation des BGPs, die es allen erlaubt, am Internet teilzunehmen und Routen mit anderen Providern per BGP auszutauschen. Mit der Software OpenBGPd können so normale Computer als Router funktionieren, was eine Unabhängigkeit von proprietärer Hardware und damit verbundener Risiken ermöglicht. Insbesondere Internet Exchange Points nutzen solche Software für ihre Dienste. Das Feld der offenen BGP- Implementierungen hatte zuletzt jedoch an technischer Diversität eingebüßt. Seit einigen Jahren wird diese durch die Stärkung und Weiterentwicklung von OpenBGPd wieder hergestellt.

Warum ist das wichtig?

Das BGP-Protokoll ist die „Sprache“, die von Internetroutern gesprochen wird, um festzulegen, wie Datenpakete von einem Gerät zum anderen gesendet werden. Offene Implementierungen sind wichtig, um technische Vielfalt und Ausfallsicherheit herzustellen. Sie ermöglichen die Unabhängigkeit von kommerziellen und proprietären Routern und schaffen so Zugänge zum Internet, die sonst nur durch teure proprietäre Hardware möglich wäre.

Die Vielfalt der offenen Implementierungen ist durch die mangelnde Finanzierung des Core-Teams von OpenBGPd stark zurückgegangen. Eine modernisierte OpenBGPD-Distribution ist eine gute Option, um die Vielfalt auf der Route-Server-Ebene wiederherzustellen.

Was unterstützen wir?

Mit der Beauftragung wird die Effizienz, Nutzbarkeit und Sicherheit von OpenBGPd erhöht. Genauer wird die Performance der Route Decision Engine verbessert, Support für den Sicherheitsmechanismus ASPA implementiert, um sogenannte BGP Leaks zu verhindern, und die Benutzbarkeit für Linux Server verbessert.

Zu den Projekten